3 things

Seven neuters/spays today and I only got through six of them until my four hours was up. Not to worry, today wasn’t officially my last day at the hospital. At 9 o’clock in the morning tomorrow, I get to finally practice my dental work on a dog. I’m really looking forward to that since I’ve never gotten the chance for an actual hands-on dental procedure. After I’ve completed an addition four hours tomorrow, I am completely done with externship!

Here are a few things I’ve learned:

1. I’ve found that female cats are the most easiest to shave and prep for surgery than any other animal. It’s actually pretty fun too!

2. It’s pretty sad how a Veterinary Technician job can be wasted on someone who has no passion and no knowledge whatsoever about that field, yet the employer still prefers them over me because they are better at “janitor work” than I am. I know I sound partially snooty and wrong, but I’m not going to school to gain knowledge in mopping floors and sweeping the parking lot, I’m there to gain experience in the medical field (hey, at least I’m not sugarcoating my feelings). Goodluck to them on any future emergency situations when she’s running around the hospital not knowing how to apply any medical techniques.

3. I’m usually not this catty, but I just had to vent about it this time. (I think some people misunderstood me along the way and took my tantrums as their own personal insult, when it wasn’t meant to be thrust towards them in the first place.)

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

