a decision

Twenty- one years old. It’s the age where most people have reached the starting point of their dream career, the age of which most people have their entire life mapped out, or the age where they’ve graduated from college with some sort of degree to their name. As for me? I’m a different case. I’m still wondering whether or not if I should continue pursuing my career as a Vet Technician or if I should drop it all and take over the family business. This dilemma came up only because my dad had a talk with me  last week, and it involved me taking over his jewelry store before he decides to retire. He basically wants me to quit school cold turkey to work “with” him (he didn’t use “for” him this time) to learn the ropes of being the boss. Now, my parents are strong believers in finishing school and earning a degree so they went ahead and threw that in also. I flat out replied with, “I don’t want to go back to college at all. I’ll take a couple of courses for Accounting and Economics, but I just don’t want to go back to college.” Surprisingly, he answered with, “Then come work at the store full time and we’ll go from there.” Wow. Although I can sense my mom squirming, in the backseat, at the thought of me not earning a degree, I was relieved. Some people might strongly disagree at the fact that I’m not “school material” and that there is no such thing, it’s pure laziness. Well, in some ways I agree  and in other ways I disagree with that statement. Yes, I’ll admit I’m too lazy to sit through class listening to teachers lecture about something I’m not even half interested in, but I do understand that sitting through Accounting 101 teaches us much more than what the course is named. I know, I’m fully aware of the fact that graduates earn a ton more (money) in their lifetime than non-grads but that’s besides the point. The point is there’s a group on Facebook that’s named “I chose love over money, I’m a Vet Tech.” That wasn’t really the point, but you get the point. Lol. I guess what I’m trying to say is whatever my decision will be I will choose because I know it’s better for me, for my future family, my future finances, just my entire future as a whole. Sometimes you have to choose the route you didn’t expect, but on the other hand, it was inevitable anyway. Everyday while I lay in bed, driving, or sitting in class I think about how lucky I am to have parents who can give me so much in one lifetime. It would obviously be stupid of me if I didn’t take advantage of it.

Anyway, thanks for reading :]

3 Responses

  1. All I can say is do what makes you the happiest. Your parents will support whatever decision you make, but don’t make your decision to please anyone but yourself.

  2. You should do what desi commented .. If you do something that doesn’t make you happy then u might end up partially like me. But I’m a different case bc I have a baby that I’m “sacrificing” for. But whatevr u do I know u will succeed bc ur smart. Just make sure u don’t give up on yourself. And if you can’t find a profession u like u can always be riley’s full time babysitter or my personal assistant lololol jk

Leave a Reply

